Since its inception in 2001, the Washington Award has recognized talented artists in the fields of, music, dance, and visual arts especially those who contribute to international cultural collaboration.

Each winner is awarded a cash prize of $5,000. In addition, the Awards Committee may designate a Grand Prize winner who receives an additional $5,000. Award winners are honored annually in the spring at the Washington Awards Ceremony. 

The 2018 winners are: Grand Prize-winning choreographer Gabrielle Lamb and Washington Award winners Sara Daneshpour (Piano), Alicia Eggert (Visual Art), Yoshie Ueno (Flute) and Paul Wiancko (Composition). Each of these forward-thinking artists is pushing the boundaries of their artistic and performance practices. To learn more about the 2018 winners click here.

Please stay tuned for more information about the 2019 application process.

Award Selection Committee

Michael Djupstrom
Pianist, Composer and winner of the S&R Washington Award Grand Prize (2013)
Robert Dwyer
Partner, Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Mary Early
Director of HEMPHILL Fine Arts
Sarah Ewing
Director, S.J. Ewing & Dancers
Diane Kanca
Partner, VouteLohrfink Magro & McAndrew, LLP
Philip Kennicott
Art and Architecture Critic, The Washington Post

Previous Winners

Willi Singleton
Ceramic Art
Grand Prize
Mamiko Hirai


2016 Washington Awardees (Left to Right) Gilad Hochman, Seeta Patel, Maggie Finnegan, Karen Ouzonian, Saad Haddad
2016 Washington Awards Ceremony